What I want is what I've not got, but what I need is all around me...



Read-a-holics; this is for you - May. 11, 2005
Goodbye - Dec. 08, 2004
Red Sox Nation - Oct. 31, 2004
It is good to be from Boston - Oct. 28, 2004
She lost her sparkle, you know she isn't the same - Sept. 27, 2004

design by Jesa




Apr. 14, 2003 - Party problems already


We need a new matress in the worst way. Currently the fouton isn't cutting it. We both wake up feeling like crap and it isn't poufy anymore. I miss having a regular matress, I haven't slept on one in two years. *sniff, sniff* In order to get a new matress, we need to get a new bed frame to accomodate the box spring and the matress. Everyone keeps telling me to just get a matress and put it on the bed frame that we have, but seriously I want a real bed now. So we have to start looking for that too.

I also really want a corner entertainment center. The one we have now is way too big and everytime I bring it up, the boy gets frustrated because he thinks that I am trying to shove all of his stuff out the door. (this is true to a point, come on let's face it. He is a boy and his decorating taste is all in his mouth) So I make him feel better and he keeps the entertainment center. But I struck on something the other day. I said that we should get a BIGGER T.V. See if we get the big t.v., then we will need the new entertainment center. *evil laugh* The boy thinks this is great, not seeing that I am really angeling for the corner piece and not the new t.v, but it apeals to his sports side and his obsession with the damn t.v. so I see it as a win-win situation. No?

Ashlyn is into that stage where she calls her parents by their first name. Yesterday she kept going, "Paul, Paul. HEY PAUL, TALKING TO YOU!" (Ash is 2) She went to see my boy up at the fire station yesterday and said, "Uncle Tevin, where is you hat?" He said, "where is yours?" so she scrunched up her face, obviously very confused because he didn't answer her and said, "no YOU hat?" he said, "well where is yours?" So she said, "I don't have one." All this while shaking her head and shrugging her shoulders. It was too cute.

Paul called me on Friday to discuss some business options. He is starting up a company and he actually thinks that I might be useful in some areas and asked for my help. I was shocked. Paul is so hard to read sometimes.

So the party planning has begun. George's 80th birthday brunch is going to be a thorn in my side. I can already feel it. The boy's sister, Sue is the one who came up with the idea of having the party, so she went and reserved the local country club for an afternoon. Um, did she even ask if we could pay for this? (well she didn't) So I get to listen to the boy bitch and moan about how much is this going to cost and if this is a birthday party, how much is the friggin' wedding going to cost, blah, blah, blah. I tune him out, it is best.

Yesterday the boy's mom says to me, "I am trying to get a list of people to invite to dad's party, but he is always home and I can't do it with him looking over my shoulder every second." I told her that I would arrange for the boy to take dad out of the house one afternoon this week and she could work on the guest list then. She was happy. I look at the boy and said, "this week you have to get your dad out of the house so your mom can do somethings for the party." OH MY FUCKING WORD. You would have thought that I asked him to get blood from a stone. "How am I supposed to do that?" So I looked at him and said, "Seriously? Like, dude; he is your father, do something with him, anything."

Already the fun begins.