What I want is what I've not got, but what I need is all around me...



Read-a-holics; this is for you - May. 11, 2005
Goodbye - Dec. 08, 2004
Red Sox Nation - Oct. 31, 2004
It is good to be from Boston - Oct. 28, 2004
She lost her sparkle, you know she isn't the same - Sept. 27, 2004

design by Jesa




Apr. 17, 2003 - Drive throught he old neighborhood


I am feeling better today, actually much better. My back is tweaked a bit, but I think that is from exercise and lifting things.

Last night I squashed the idea of the walk. Wasn't in the mood. Actually, I was in the mood up until 4:45 yesterday afternoon when I got this phone call at work, which led me on a journey up to FedEx to deliver a package that HAS TO BE IN San Diego TODAY. (This is a long story) Once I decided that I had to go to Warwick, then I decided to go to Garden City to go shopping at Pier One Imports and then over to the close-out store (not there anymore *sniff*sniff*.

Seeing as though I was in Cranston to begin with, I decided to go for a little drive. I went by the old house on Woodbine St. I kind of parked at the end of the street and looked at the house. It felt so weird to be in that neighborhood. I haven't been there since Bernice sold the house after Jack died, and shit that was like 6 years ago. Driving around the neighborhood I felt safe, but yet like a total stranger. I walked those streets for years; I remember who would let you walk across the lawn and who wouldn't, which house had the big barking dogs and which ones had cats. I still remember running around that neighborhood, jumping the fence and walking the train tracks, or hanging out in the playground until it was WAY past curfew. I loved being a kid it was so much easier then.

So after I strolled through the Woodbine Street hood, I went to Richard Street. That was really strange for me. That street looked the same, except my back yard looked much smaller than it did when I was a kid, and the houses around it didn't seem to be as large as I once remembered. As I was driving by, I heard the church bells that used to put me to sleep at night and all kinds of memories and smells came flooding my body. So I decided to ride over to the elementary school to see what that looks like now.

Amazingly it still looks the same. They put an addition on it, but for the most part it is still jut little old Eden Park.

Christ my childhood seems like it was a million years ago, but I still feel it inside me at times. I look back at the little girl that I was and I wonder if I knew what I was going to be, or if who I am just happened. (Uh, that made more sense in my head, but whatever)

After my journey through the Cranston, I went to Bramley's house. I was bored and she called so I went over there. I stayed for about an hour and a half and headed home to jump in the shower and watch the last 20 minutes of Law and Order.

I woke up this morning to the kitty on my head and the boy giving me kisses on the cheek.

One more day until Friday, and that means two whole days with my boy and nothing else to do...

<)) Times to Remember � Billy Joel